Thursday, January 18, 2007

Steering Committee Meets in Dallas

ACEP’s Steering Committee met in Dallas yesterday to launch a new year for the ACEP Council. The Steering Committee exists to provide leadership to and conduct the business of the Council. Led by Council Speaker Todd Taylor, MD, FACEP and Council Vice-Speaker Bruce McLeod, MD, FACEP the group spent a day discussing the issues relevant to the ACEP Council. The members of the Steering Committee include:

Andrew Bern, MD, FACEP from Florida
Michael Christopher, MD, FACEP from Arizona
Mylissa Graber, MD, FACEP from Florida
John Graneto, DO, FACEP from Illinois
Charles Heinrichs, MD, FACEP from North Carolina
Jon Mark Hershon, MD, FACEP from Maryland
Jay Kaplan, MD, FACEP from California
Scott Korvek, MD, from Pennsylvania
Mark Mackey, MD, FACEP from Illinois
Catherine Marco, MD, FACEP from Ohio
Douglas McGee, DO, FACEP from Pennsylvania
David Mendelson, MD, FACEP from Texas
Gary Starr, MD, from Illinois
Peter Viccellio, MD, FACEP from New York
Albert Villarin, MD, FACEP from Pennsylvania

The group considered the workings of the 2006 Council, making suggestions to streamline and improve the experience for the participants. They also discussed the nomination and election process for the Board of Directors and for the positions of Speaker and Vice-Speaker. In addition, the steering committee discussed the resolution writing process and ways to improve the quality of submitted resolutions. The full minutes of the meeting may be obtained by contacting Sonja Montgomery at the ACEP office – 1-800-798-1822 ext.3202.

No comments: